Residential Energy Certification (NatHERS)

 “The National House Energy Rating Scheme (NatHERS) refers to the Australian governments scheme that facilitates consistent energy ratings from software tools which are used to assess the potential thermal efficiency of the dwellings envelope.

All new class 1 residential dwellings in Australia (Exc NSW) require a minimum 6 star energy rating (climate zone dependent) by NatHERS accredited software.”


Depending on which state your project is located in will determine what method of residential compliance is required.

The majority of States require a 6.0 Star energy efficiency assessment however some climate zones can still pass regulation with 5.0 or 5.5 Stars based on individual state legislation.

Click below to find out more about your specific needs.

What is a NatHERS Residential Energy Rating?

Commonly known as a 6 Star energy report this software approach to certification assesses the thermal performance of construction materials based on a benchmark set of criteria as outlined in the National Construction Code Volume 2 Part 3.12.

An energy rating is based on a complex system of data entry into a NatHERS accredited software, items that are taken into consideration are: 

  • The layout of the home
  • The construction of its roof, walls, windows and floor
  • The orientation of windows and shading to the sun's path and
    local breezes
  • How well these suit the local climate.

 Energy consumption by hot water systems, lights or household appliances is not considered in the rating as these fittings could be replaced several times during the life of the building.

Our 6 star energy rating reports provide clear details of insulation and glazing requirements for your development to achieve a 6 star energy rating with turnaround times of 1 day if requested.

Let's Get Started!

Join us now! It's a quick and simple process. If you already have an account, just login and get started.